java.io.IOException: Filesystem closed

Hi hadoopers,

Here is the exception that screwed up me on Saturday night and failed my Mapper task.

  • Mapper is reading the lines one by one and tokenize it.
  • The last token contains a path of a file in HDFS.
  • I need to open the file and read the contents.

For the above task, following is the flow I followed in the Mapper.

hadoop045-filesystem

Worse, my mapper failed with the following exception.

org.apache.hadoop.mapred.MapTask: Ignoring exception during close for org.apache.hadoop.mapred.MapTask$NewTrackingRecordReader@1cb3ec38
java.io.IOException: Filesystem closed
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSClient.checkOpen(DFSClient.java:689)
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.close(DFSInputStream.java:617)

Filesystem object is suppose to be global. When I close the filesystem, the Mapper input is also closed which breaks the complete flow. So I closed only the filestream, but I didn’t close the file system explicitly which resolved the problem.

Ref: https://github.com/linkedin/gobblin/issues/1219

 

Leave a Reply

