Huawei EC1260 and Ubuntu 9.1

This is really a pathetic story 😦

I installed ubuntu 9.1 AMD 64 today in my vostro 1000 (said bye to one more windows!!!). The installer is faster than 386 installation in my office laptop.

I have Reliance Broadband with USB Huawei EC1260 modem, which was cleanly identified by Network Manager and I was able to configure the connection. But it is not getting connected. (It was working perfectly in Sabayon5). After googling I came to know that the device is identified as USB mass storage, rather than a modem. The tricks given by sites are not helpful, atleast for me.

Sad, Ubuntu dont come with gnome-ppp by default. I need to download it along with its dependencies to make the device work.

Leave a Reply

