com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure

kuttikaranam

Today I had a new install of Mandriva 2008 linux. I wrote a java code to test the mysql connectivity. It ended with the following exception.

com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure
Last packet sent to the server was 0 ms ago.

Alas, deeper google search gives me a solution that told about the mysql connectivity parameter in /etc/my.cnf

skip-networking

This parameter has been added for some security related reasons. Really I dont know what it is. I just removed that line, which solved this issue.

Leave a Reply

