Java Runtime exec can hang

Today I was trying to extract the windows eventlog entries in my win-xp box. I have used Eldump to do this. please see my earlier post about this tool http://blog.grassfield.org/2007/06/24/fetch-your-eventlog-entries-with-eldump/ . I have used runtime.exec() to execute this command and extracted the information from the process streams.

The program was extracting the log entries, but hang in between, and went for endless sleep; i.e, the process never ended. Later with some googling, I was adviced to read error stream first, and then process output stream. Also both the streams need to be read concurrently with two threads. This could solve my issue. Try then!

Leave a Reply

