jConsole : 810 is not a managed VM

jConsole memory utilisation window

Hey guys,

Here is another bug, on the last day of the first month of 2008! jConsole, an interesting performance monitoring tool from java. I was looking at it, got interested, decided to test my own typical Addition! we have to pass the PID of the process to jConsole. the syntax is like this

jConsole.exe <pid>

When I issued the command jConsole 810, he said ‘810 is not a managed VM‘. Later I understood that jConsole uses -Dcom.sun.management.jmxremote flag being set while running java.

So when I run the addition program i have added that flag

java -Dcom.sun.management.jmxremote Addition

jConsole beautifully started and rocking like a cheetah!. I need to write a brief on jConsole. let me see whether I can do it by this weekend.

2 thoughts on “jConsole : 810 is not a managed VM

Leave a Reply

