HTC Blinkfeed – Operation Success! Patient Close!

I’m a hardcore fan of the quality of the HTC smart phone hardware. I had a worst experience with samsung hardware in its Onnia Pro model. I’ve thrown away the phone in just one week. Later I changed Sony Xperia, it was good. But the bigger screen is introduced by HTC first in India. I got HTC Desire HD, then HTC One V (low end model) and now I’m using HTC One Max.

HTC Desire HD

HTC Desire HD

One Max is a wonderful piece of hardware once again. It never hangs. (I’m using it for 4 months now). Pretty faster. The customized UI is good. This customization of User Interface is called as HTC Sense. I like that. HTC has the Sense version 5.5 in One Max. The English and Tamil fonts they use, Blinkfeed are the selling points of One Max. They have finger printing sensor with One Max. For me it is highly inconvenient.

HTC Sense 5.5 has pleasant interface

HTC Sense 5.5 has pleasant interface

Why Blinkfeed is annoying?

It gives option to integrate with social media, news, trending topics etc. It is good to have. But they failed to look at a hardcore social user cum blogger like me. Let me point out some intersting drawbacks.

Feedly and Flipboard makes feed reading a pleasant experience

Feedly and Flipboard makes feed reading a pleasant experience

* I’m unable to post to all my social network at same time. I had this feature in Desire HD. But I’m able to post on only one social network at a time.
Select facebook… post
Select twitter.. post
Select Google plus.. post.
ooh! why should I use HTC sense? I can do that from the native apps.

HTC BlinkFeed

HTC BlinkFeed

* What about RSS Feed? I should be able to read the feeds in which I’m interested in. I’m following n number feeds – my friends’ blogs, Indian news papers, etc. There is no other option to include those feeds. Alas, even they don’t support blogspot and wordpress. Crazy!

Though I have HTC Sense version 5.5, I still use Feedly (Sometimes Flipboard) to track the news and feeds. That is much convenient. I’m sure HTC had spent considerable amount of time in bringing the BlinkFeed. But It is useless!

KitKat upgrade to Goof tamil support

The main purpose of getting OneMax for its bigger screen and excellent Tamil support. All the android client supports Tamil now a days. Why the hell I need to go for HTC? The reason is Tamil Fonts! Unlike other vendors like Samsung/Sony/Micromax, HTC comes with Murasu Fonts which is very good for reading tamil for long time. (Thanks our Tamil Computing Pithamakan Mr “Murasu” Muthu Nedumaran).

Tamil Support in HTC One Max

Tamil Support in HTC One Max

But Kitkat upgrade in HTC had spoiled the Tamil support in Web browsers. Murasu fonts are replaced by Default Android Font, which is painful for eyes.

Default HTC browser doesn't have proper tamil rendering after KitKat Upgrade. You need to use Chrome

Default HTC browser doesn’t have proper tamil rendering after KitKat Upgrade. You need to use Chrome

The tamil font is not consistent after KitKat upgrade. The Murasu fonts are missing in many places in many apps.

The tamil font is not consistent after KitKat upgrade. The Murasu fonts are missing in many places in many apps.

The native email app is so cruel in rendering Tamil fonts

The native email app is so cruel in rendering Tamil fonts

 

But Still I like this piece, because of the Standard UI customization and quality hardware! phewwww!

 

One thought on “HTC Blinkfeed – Operation Success! Patient Close!

Leave a comment